Second Way to Build a Better Online Dating Profile: Profile Tips that Work by Joe Tracy

2) Go From Typical to Unique
Read this profile and tell me if you recognize it:

“I am a fun person who loves movies and music. I like walks on the beach, good conversation, and dining out. I’m looking for someone who is fun and can make me laugh.”

Unfortunately, the above describes most profiles – typical and non-informative. Beef up your profile to be more descriptive and unique. Instead of “I like movies,” say “my favorite movie is ____ because _______” or use a movie character to describe you. “I’m a lot like _____ in ______ because _______.”

Use clever words that are descriptive. Instead of saying “on hot days I like to go to the ocean or on a hike,” say, “on a sizzling day my adventurous side leads me to traversing the ocean on a sailboat or discovering a new waterfall that I can cool off under.”

Instead of “I like to discover new things,” say, “I’m a lot like Indiana Jones in that I love exploring the mysteries of life, while educating my mind to appreciate new things.”

Strive to make your profile unordinary by spicing it up sentence by sentence. Be descriptive, unique, and fun!

